14 Feb 2017|Gwalior | Amity University Madhya Pradesh Gwalior

Amity University Madhya Pradesh organises Annual Debate Competition 2017 on 14th February 2017

“For good ideas and true innovation, you need human interaction, conflict, argument and debate”- Maragret Heffernan

Amity University, Madhya Pradesh organized the Annual Debate competition on 14 Feb 2017 for the students of first year across all the departments of different streams. The aim to conduct the debate competition was to provide a platform to the first year students to exercise their analytical and oratory skills and to enable them to elucidate their stand point through utilising rhetorical eloquence.

The topics which were debated were pertinent to today’s scenario. The three topics were:

o  Demonetization has Adversely affected our Economy

o  Internet needs Censorship

o  Juveniles should be tried as Adults for Serious Offences

Following the debate, the motion for each topic was put before the house for voting with the following results:

o  Demonetization has Adversely affected our Economy : Defeated

o  Internet needs Censorship : Defeated

o  Juveniles should be tried as Adults for Serious Offences :Defeated

A total of 18 students from across programmes were shortlisted to participate in the final competition. Danny Louis David of BBA, LLB- II Sem was the proud winner of the competition. The position of first runner up was bagged by Ninad Sharma- CSE II Sem and Yash Sharma-BA LLB-II Sem bagged the position of second runner up.

The debaters skilfully answered all the questions posed by the interjectors namely Lokesh Kumar-BTM VIII Sem, Diksha Kukreja-BBA VI Semand Aditi Bhadoria-BTB VI Sem.

Prof. Dr Eirene Leela Rout – Director AIBAS, AUMP, Mr. Amanpreet Randhawa- Dy Director - HR & OSD to Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Amity University Madhya Pradesh and Mrs. Aparna Beecham– Faculty–ASCENT were the esteemed faculty judges for the competition and two student judges were Abhijith Menon CSE-VIII Sem and Ellora Ghosh-Bar VI Sem. Tanuj Bhatnagar bagged the best audience question prize.

The event culminated with the concluding remarks by the Hon'ble Vice Chancellor AUMP, Lt Gen V K Sharma, AVSM (Retd). He praised and congratulated the winners and emphasized the importance of debating skills among students.

The winners were awarded with certificates and prizes by the Hon’ble Vice Chancellor before the vote of thanks proposed by Siddiqua Fatima of BTB VI sem.