26 Feb 2016-28 Feb 2016|Lucknow

IX National Moot Court Competition

  Hon’ble S.S. Upadhyay, legal advisor to His excellency, the Governor of U.P. addressed the inaugural ceremony and shared his practical legal experience with the enthusiastic participants of the competition by saying that the use of legal knowledge and terminology enhances the legal base of a law student and application of law to the facts of the case.

Our other guest of honor, Hon’ble Justice (Dr.) D.K. Arora, Allahabad High Court enlightened us with the origin of Moot Court Competition in India by ILS, Pune. According to him, confidence and proper application of law is a key to success in a Moot Court Competition.

22 teams from all over the country participated and to name a few are GNLU, RMNLU, RGNLU, ILS Law College, NMIMS School of Law, Amity Law School, Delhi, Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law, University of Delhi, Galgotias University, Greater Noida, Pravin Gandhi College of Law, IMS University, School of Law, SASTRA University etc.

The Moot preposition was based on the International Law and was tried under the International Court of Justice. The petitioner and respondent argued on the fact of Vadertham, unilaterally declaring its independence from Kylosia in 1991. The petitioner strengthened its argument by quoting that Kylosia has always had the intention to exploit Natural Gas of the country.

The Bench for the Finale Round were Justice Rajan Roy (Judge, High Court),  S.B. Pandey (ASG), Justice A.N Verma (Judge High Court), , Prof. R.R. Lyall (Former Dean of Lucknow University), Dr. Adish C. Agarwal (AAG) .

ILS Law College and Pravin Gandhi College of Law qualified to the final round.

After the hearing of the arguments, the court was adjourned for the calculation of result.



Prof. R.R. Lyall, Ex Head and Dean Department of Law, Lucknow University addressed by enlightening the audience about UN Charter and the importance of practice in development of skills for mooting.


Additional Solicitor General S.B. Pandey addressed the audience by thanking everyone for organizing such a successful event and wished everyone for their future.


Dr. Adish C Agarwal (AAG) addressed the gathering by sharing his personal experiences . He also congratulated everyone for organizing the event and encouraged the participants.


Hon’ble Justice A.N. Verma addressed the gathering by showing his happiness by the performance of participants in the competition and encouraged the idea of participation more than that of winning it.


Hon’ble Justice Rajan Roy addressed the gathering by sharing his personal experience of lack of such council during his times of studies. He also told about the importance of clarity of thoughts in the field of law.


After the gathering was addressed by all the dignitaries the results were declared. The winning team was ILS, PUNE and the runner up was Pravin Gandhi College of law. The other prizes were also named. The winner of the Best Mooter was awarded to Priyanka Acharya from Gandhinagar National Law University, Gandhinagar , the award for the Best Researcher was given to Maria Fatima from Unity Degree College from Lucknow, and the award for best memorial was given to ILS, PUNE. The prizes were given by all the guests of honor. With that the distribution of the certificates to the winners as well as to the participants took place. A vote of thanks was extended by Prof. G.K. Chandani, Amity Law School, Lucknow and congratulated everyone for the event.