BRIEF PROFILE OF PROF.(DR.) B.C. DAS

Bhudev Chandra Das, PhD, FNASc, FASc, FAMS, FNA & J.C. Bose National Fellow.

Chairman & Hargobind Khorana Chair Professor
Amity Institute of Molecular Medicine
& Stem Cell Research (AIMMSCR) And
DEAN, Faculty of Health & Allied Sciences,
Chairman, University Research Council (URC)
Vice-President, Amity Science, Technology & Innovation Foundation (ASTIF)
Chairman, Amity Institute of Genome Engineering (AIGE)
Amity University Uttar Pradesh,
Sector-125, Noida, India-201313

Tel: +(91)-0120-4586855

Mob: 98105-66870, 98105-37835

Email: bcdas@amity.edu; bcdas48@hotmail.com

Website: www.amity.edu

Former Director & Prof Gurbaksh Singh Chair Professor
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research (ACBR),
University of Delhi (North Campus), Delhi – 110 007, INDIA,

Formerly Founder Director,

National Institute of Cancer Prevention and Research (NICPR) Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), Noida-201301, UP.

Dr. B.C. Das has made outstanding contributions in the field of Cancer Research, Tumor Virology, Human Genetics and Mutation Research. During the last 45 years of his distinguished research career he has published more than 250 research papers in reputed international journals and distinguished himself as a renowned Molecular Oncologist. Dr. Das has earned his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degree from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi. Later he worked several years with the Nobel Laureate, Prof. Harald zurHausen (Nobel Prize, 2008) at German Cancer Research Centre (DFKZ), Heidelberg, (Germany) and in India he pioneered the work on Human Papillomavirus (HPV). He established National and WHO Regional HPV Referral Centre for South-East Asia at ICMR-NICPR. His present areas of research are molecular epidemiology, transcriptional regulation, miRNA regulation, cancer stem cell biology, targeted drug delivery, drug development and gene editing.

So far 38 Ph.D. and 79 MD/MS/DM/DNB/DM students have received their degrees under his supervision and guidance. Dr. Das is the recipient of President's gold medal, a top medical award, **Dr. B.C. Roy National Award** of Medical Council of India, **Sandoz Oration Award** for cancer research of ICMR and a **Fellow of International Union Against Cancer (UICC)**, Geneva. He is a **Fellow** of all four major national science and medical academies, (**FNA, FASc, FNASc & FAMS**). Dr. Das was elected **President of Indian Association for Cancer Research (IACR)** from 2006-2009. He was a Principal Investigator and a **WHO** expert advisor of the **Global HPV LabNet & HPV Vaccine Program** at, Geneva for several years. Dr. Das has received **Ranbaxy Medical Research Award, Dr. P.N. Wahi Award of ICMR, Ramniklal J. Kinarivala Cancer Research Award** of Gujarat Cancer Research Institute, Ahmedabad, **Dr. P. N. Chhuttani Oration Award** of National Academy of Medical Sciences (NAMS), **FICCI Award,** and **SAASCR Award** USA. Dr. Das is also recipient of the prestigious **J.C. Bose National Fellowship (2008-2016) and ICMR's B.R. Ambedkar Centenary Award for Excellence in Biomedical Research 2017 (h-index = 75, i-10 index = 414, Total citation = 21,135).**

Dr. Das is member of several scientific task force, Project Review Committees and high powered committees, Associate Editor, editorial board member and reviewer of several reputed national and international journals.

